My new story project Milagros began to take form a few days ago. I have sat with this story for years now, not sure where to start or what would be my main theme. Knowing what the focus would be helps me develop the characters and where I will ultimately end the story. I see this story as a three part series from three generations perspective.

Here is what I have so far:
Milagros is upper middle class born at the turn of the 20th Century. Her life begins as her older sisters end due to complications from childbirth. She is raised by her parents alongside her nephew Pedro. Pedro’s father leaves shortly after his birth, distraught from his wife’s passing.
Milagros older brother Luis and wife Maria can not have children of their own and are very involved in the lives of Milagros and Pedro as surrogate parents.
Milagros mom Ana is a shell of the person she used to be before AnaMaria died. She moves on through life for the sake of Milagros and Pedro. Ana and her husband Andre live a comfortable life until Andre’s death when Milagros is 20 years old. Her life begins down a new path when Pedro’s dad calls for him from a new exotic land. The whole family goes to visit Christopher, Pedro’s dad and no ones life is ever the same.

Things I need to research:
Courting in the 19th and early 20th century in Spain
Conversation style of mentioned above time period
Description of Spain and Cuba in above time periods ie, social climate, landmarks, etc…

Current story word count: 0

 

