An ongoing family struggle recent turn of events brought back a slight hope for humanity. It is slight only because the random act of kindness is overshadowed by the shit storm on the horizon when my grandparents die. A world without them is not one I am ready to fully accept yet.

A few days ago my grandpa was on his way home from the doctor and had not been eating well or comfortably for a while, however at that moment he wanted something to eat.
He choked and almost died.
In a panic they scream for help and a whole bunch of people were frantically calling for help with them. Enter a random stranger who performed the Heimlich maneuver and essentially saved my elders life. He took the keys to my relatives car and dangerously drove them to the nearest hospital.

Grandpa is delicately holding on. He is a strong man to have survived everything he has gone through in the last year or so. Grandma is trying to hold it together as well. I can’t imagine the confusion and heartbreak it is to be potentially be on the brink of losing your life partner of over 60 years.

If you can say a little prayer for them as they continue to tread this difficult journey in their lives together it would be greatly appreciated.

A many, many thanks to the Good Samaritan who helped save my grandpa’s life.

