After reading a fellow bloggers post about religion it got my wheels turning about my relationship with my belief system.
I was raised a Catholic. I went to catholic school until the middle of sophomore year in High School. As I moved back to my hometown at the end of said year of HS, only the public school would take me and not make me repeat the whole academic year. It was a whole new world for me. We had metal detectors, locker searches and going to the bathroom alone was unheard of as was the talk of religion. Where up to this point religion was part of my curriculum, there was now a pronounced lack of it. It was liberating.
As a young adult I saw and sometimes experienced things that made me question the validity of the lessons I learned in my Catholic upbringing. I became disenchanted with my perception that the God I was supposed to love did not love those that did not adhere specifically to the rules he set forth.
I began to pull away and explored many religions and even at some point dabbled with the occult.

I got married, had a child and had no interest in following any set of religious rules. My ex-husband is not religious by any stretch of the imagination. My child did not get baptized until the age of 2 and that was mostly due to my move closer to my family and they applied pressure to save the child’s soul.

Over the years I have settled on what feels most natural to me, being more spiritual and staying clear of any organized religion. I believe in a higher being but am not quick to label it God. I see “God” in everything around me and do not feel that going to church would bring me any closer to “God”.

I see myself as a non-practicing Catholic and view Catholicism as a tradition not something to wholeheartedly adhere to.

