I have considered myself pretty good at handling my grief but this morning my blue-eyed sister decided it was a nice gesture to send me an audio that brought me to tears. It was a nice gesture but I was unprepared for how hearing my grandfather saying hi to me would hit me.

It took me about 15 minutes to get myself under control. I was angry and frustrated that she sent it but then after the 50th listen I realized it was great to hear him addressing me directly.

Then today at a BBQ birthday party for a friend’s daughter/husband this random lady starting talking to me. I heard her whole life story and her struggles from when she migrated to the U.S. from Cuba. It was not much different from any other story I had heard but I was an avid listener. It was great to connect to a past that I only hear nowadays when I travel to Florida.

The older people in our lives have little time left with us and when they go their story goes with them.

Note self: When people start talking remember to write it down.

