IMG_331577811964252This is a picture of me way back in the day. I am the one on the right with the white sweater. I am not old enough that I do not recognize who is in the picture. I cannot however for the life of me remember where we are going, who’s car we are in and who took the picture. I am definitely somewhere between 12 and 15 years old if my sisters hair do is any indication.

I was born in the mid 70’s but all my cultural references as a tween and teenager are heavily situated in the 80’s. Through my older sister I was exposed to music and styles that maybe my contemporaries were not yet interested in. It has shaped my love of all things 80’s in music and movies but definitely not style. I look at some hair-dos and outfits of days past and shutter at the memory that I thought I looked great! Perspective is key in such matters I suppose.

