Mama's Losin' It

Choose a prompt, post it on your blog, and come back to add your name to the link list below. Be sure to sign up with the actual post URL and not just your basic blog URL (click on the title of your post for that URL). For good comment karma try to comment on the three blogs above your name!!

The Prompts:

1. List 6 favorite Instagram accounts you love to follow.
2. Write a blog post inspired by the word: golden.
3. Update your readers on your 2015 goals. How are things going? Are you staying on track or facing some challenges?
4. Write a blog post that ends with the line: No one ever asked me.
5. A memorable day at work.

When I got my first job I thought I would be a lifer. Who would not want to be eligible to retire at 53? I sure did. As it turns out  it was not meant to be and since I left that job I have worked at about 4 places including temp and full-time work.
At my current job I have worked four years and it has had many memorable moments but one in particular that stands out was during the earthquake that happened in Virginia in August 2011.I was sitting at my desk with one other co-worker on the other side of our work pod. It was lunch time and my supervisor was standing next to me chit chatting then I remember feeling slight movement of the desk and I looked over to my other sitting co-worker and I could tell we both felt it. My supervisor who was standing right next to me could not feel a thing. Oddly enough the co-workers  who had been sitting outside for lunch did not feel it either. An employee from the IT department definitely felt it. He ran across the floor and out the door in a panic. I guess there are not many earthquakes in Germany.

I was a little freaked out because my kiddo was spending the summer close by where the epicenter of the quake was. When I finally got a hold of her she had recounted how things shook and fell off the shelves and that they briefly lost power. In a panic her grandmother rushed them outside to the parking lot.

It was memorable in that it was a natural disaster and it was interesting to see people’s reaction to it. I was new to the group and didn’t know them well yet. Thankfully nothing quite as eventful has happened again.


