Mama's Losin' It

Choose a prompt, post it on your blog, and come back to add your name to the link list below. Be sure to sign up with the actual post URL and not just your basic blog URL (click on the title of your post for that URL). For good comment karma try to comment on the three blogs above your name!!

The Prompts:

1. Write a blog post inspired by the word: sparks
2. Tell about the worst sunburn you ever received. How did that happen?
3. Share something you learned in June.
4. We just celebrated America’s Independence. List 8 things you appreciate most about your freedom.
5. It’s hot, the kids are home and crazy, our pets are panting, the days are long…share your Summer Survival Tips.

I grew up in northern NJ and so the beaches in the summer were a big deal. It was and is the time of the year where less is more usually. This is the not case when it comes to suntan lotion. I am a fairly fair complexion person and so the sun and I have a love hate relationship. I envied that my mom and older sister tan so well. Where I am wearing sunblock to the 100th power, they were putting on oil to tan darker and with relatively good results. If I missed a spot there was pain, peel and no tan as my reward.

During one of these jersey shore adventures I opted to use as little as possible of sunblock. I was determined to tan however I did not count on falling asleep. About an hour into sunbathing my sister throws cold water on me and I wake up abruptly not realizing I had burned and as I struggled to get out of the path of the water my arm scratches the sand and I cry  out in pain. As my sister laughs at me she comments that looks like it is going to hurt later. She was unfortunately right. My nose got the worst of it and I ended up in emergency room. I had managed a second degree burn on my nose. No relief for days and no way to sleep comfortably. If I slept on my back, it burned. If I slept on my stomach it burned my face.

These days I am not much of a beach goer and if I do I lather that sunblock everywhere and in thick quantities.

