It has been said, yelled and written by those that know me that I have little to no concept of boundaries. Imagine their surprise when boundaries is one of my 2017 goals. I want to know the literal meaning and what those meanings signify to me and how I feel most comfortable executing it. There has been some resistance from my established social circle, small as it may be.

There are those that think it is about time and wonder what took me so long. Those are also those who resist most when I apply boundaries toward them. They are quick to remind me of all things I have done in the past in regards to not respecting boundaries.

I am most amused most by those that think that it is just a phase and it too shall pass. It could very well be a phase but I am determined to make it a lifestyle.

“Personal boundaries are guidelines, rules or limits that a person creates to identify reasonable, safe and permissible ways for other people to behave towards them and how they will respond when someone passes those limits”, as per the wikipedia definition.

Based on my personal beliefs and experiences my top three boundaries so far are as follows:

-Don’t ask me for help with anything you are not willing to help in the same way.

-I watch not so much what you say but what you do. If you tell me I am like a sister to you and I also see that you speak badly of your own real sister, that is all I need to know to how you will speak of me when I am not around. I will only share with you what I wouldn’t mind others knowing. Golden rule: those that gossip about others will gossip about you.

-My time is just as valuable as yours. Do not treat me like an after thought. Three strikes and  you are out.

This list is a work in progress but I think it worth exploring.

